area 8 of Vogts
Acronym: 8
The term area 8 of Vogts refers to an area of the cerebral cortex defined on the basis of myeloarchitecture and cytoarchitecture in the guenon. It consists of four subdivisions, area 8 alpha of Vogts, area 8 beta of Vogts, area 8 gamma of Vogts, and area 8 delta of Vogts. The authors regarded it as the same as area 8 of Brodmann (guenon) but topologically different from area 8 of Mauss ( Vogts-1919 ). Its equivalent in the macaque is area 8A; the map by the Vogts has no equivalent to area 8B in the macaque.

Also known as: Area 8NeuroNames ID : 956

Species Having or Lacking this Structure

All Names & Sources

Internal Structure

Cells Found There

Genes Expressed There

Locus in Brain Hierarchy


Models Where It Appears

Publications About It

BrainInfo                           Copyright 1991-present                          University of Washington